Project Management guide
← Back to FAQ

How to Become a Scrum Master in 7 Simple Steps?

A scrum master is one of the primary roles on an Agile project using the scrum framework. This person is the key facilitator on the project, responsible for arranging the daily meetings, improving team interactions, and helping to maximize productivity by removing roadblocks and supporting the team. Here’s an overview of how to become a scrum master in seven simple steps:

Step 1: Learn the basics of Scrum 

Before you can become a scrum master, it’s important to familiarize yourself with both the values and principles of Agile and the general scrum framework. Along with the resources on our website, you can check out the Agile Manifesto, and this eLearning Series by ScrumAlliance to become more familiar with the basic concepts, practices, and beliefs. 

Step 2: Choose your Scrum certification

One of the best ways to become a scrum master is through a recognized certification program. This type of program will ensure you’re familiar with Agile, Scrum, and the roles and requirements of a scrum master. Plus, obtaining your certification will allow you to demonstrate your knowledge of the field and can help open up new opportunities. 

There are a number of different scrum master certifications you can opt for. Some examples are: 

Step 3: Attend a Scrum course

Once you’ve chosen your certification path, it’s time to enroll in an officially recognized Scrum course. Each certification option has its own requirements, so make sure you partake in a course that will be recognized before investing in it. For instance, requires you to take its Professional Scrum Master course in order to sit for the PSM I exam.

Step 4: Register for your exam 

Once you’ve completed the required amount of course hours, you’re ready to take your exam and prove that you’re knowledgeable enough to become a Scrum Master. It’s recommended that you take the exam as close to the end of your course as possible, so you retain the maximum amount of information taught. Plus, in the case of, as long as you attempt the exam within 14 days of finishing the course if you don’t pass, you’ll be granted a second attempt for free.  

Step 5: Studying for your exam

No matter how soon after the course you enroll for the exam, it’s important to continue going over your notes and studying leading up to exam day. Reading through additional scrum resource material or watching scrum webinars can help you ensure you’re fully prepared to pass your exam. 

The exam typically focuses on key Scrum principles and practices, including project management, team building, sprints, release planning, progress reporting, and scalability. However, some exams may also contain questions about the philosophy, history, and evolution of the Scrum framework.

Step 6: Take and pass the exam

The actual exam will vary slightly, depending on your certification program. In general, it will be a multiple-choice exam with a pass mark between 60–85%. The exam is usually about an hour long, and you should know whether or not you passed within minutes of completing it. Once you pass, you should receive a PDF copy of your scrum master certification by email. Now you are officially a scrum master.  

Step 7: Renew certifications every 2 years

Scrum master certifications typically expire every two years. Therefore, in order to remain a recognized scrum master, you’ll need to renew your certificate at the end of every two-year period. There will be a fee to renew your certificate.

Depending on which organization your certificate is obtained, this process may require you to provide proof of “continuing education hours.” In other words, the program host wants to see that you’ve been dedicating time to learning more about Scrum and staying up to date with any important changes. 

Further reading
blog post

Fundamentals of the Scrum Methodology

blog post

Scrum vs. Kanban Board: Which One Is Better for Building a Project Plan?

blog post

Scrum for Newbies: How to Use Scrum to Tame Chaos