Kanban Guide
← Back to FAQ

What Is The Kanban Maturity Model?

The Kanban Maturity Model is an organized framework that allows companies to scale Kanban and gain a competitive advantage and long-term agility.

Also known as KMM, the Kanban Maturity Model provides a clear roadmap that lets teams understand their current situation and follow an actionable path for improving delivery potential. 

By using the Kanban Maturity Model, teams can:

  • Outline the roadmap to lead their organization to the next level
  • Learn and execute Kanban principles that assist the organization to effectively deliver on their internal goals and client expectations
  • Establish their organization’s maturity level in terms of repeatable behaviors, business results and management practices  

What are the different levels in the Kanban maturity model?

The Kanban maturity model defines six different levels of organizational maturity.

Maturity Level 0 – Oblivious

At this stage, organizations do not have defined work processes, the trust level is low, and team members are focused on their individual work achievements.

Maturity Level 1 – Team-focused

In this step, team members are comfortable using Kanban and realize the need to scale it for the entire team. The team collaborates and focuses on creating a system to increase deliverability.

Maturity Level 2 – Customer-driven

Here, the teams start understanding why they do the things they are doing.

They start establishing defined workflows, have a clear picture of demand, and want to improve their product and optimize customer service.

Maturity Level 3 – Fit-for-purpose

In the fit-for-purpose stage, the entire team is clear on how defined workflows and processes help achieve better outcomes. 

The organization is able to meet customer needs and improves the predictability and consistency of customer experience for better resilience.

Maturity Level 4 – Risk hedged

In the risk-hedging step, data-driven decisions are made and predictive models are introduced. 

As a result, the organization can better anticipate risk and predict results that improve overall business economics.

Maturity Level 5 – Market-leader

Here, the organization strives for market leadership by further optimizing workflows, maintaining high-quality work, and streamlining on-time deliveries. 

Agility and workforce flexibility is at the forefront.

Maturity Level 6 – Built for survival

At this stage, the organization has rebuilt itself and is poised to last for the long term. It is agile, mature, and has its hands on the pulse of the business.

Read more

Trends in Modern Project Delivery

blog post

A Guide To Managing Agile Meetings

Why do organizations need the Kanban maturity model?

The need for a Kanban maturity model comes from a desire to democratize Kanban and make it accessible and available to micro, small, and medium organizations worldwide.

When teams start implementing the Kanban maturity model, organizations develop key capabilities, such as:

  • Successfully meeting and exceeding customer demands and expectations
  • Enhancing the client experience delivery
  • Increasing employee fulfillment and instilling a greater sense of belonging in the workforce
  • Improve the predictability of economic performance and make the company financially more robust
  • Outline and better manage organizational purpose and sense of identity
  • Develop stronger resilience to change, market dynamics, and potential losses
  • Enhance the organization’s capability to tackle change and increase long-term survivability