Sharing is Cool: Grant Data Access to Your Team in One Click

Shared joy is a double joy; shared sorrow is half sorrow.” Rephrasing this Swedish proverb, we'd say "A shared project is half-done." Now we’ve made sharing data in Wrike even easier. Just right-click a folder, choose “Share folder” and then select the required people from the list. 
Now we’ve made sharing data in Wrike even easier. Just right-click a folder, choose “Share folder” and then select the required people from the list. It’s as simple as that. Unsharing works just the same way. 

This simple yet powerful feature got attention even before its official announcement.  Florian Dorfbauer, CEO of Usersnap, seems to be one of the first users who noticed it:

I love the new "share" dialog! Whenever we're planning a new project, the project leaders create a folder where we will put ideas as tasks in it. After that, we add the dependencies and add the estimated effort to get a feeling of when the new project can be done. If we know the release date of the project, we work backwards. Only after that, we assign people on the individual tasks and share the folder with our employees. That is: unless the project is not defined yet, it's only visible to the core team and only after the project definition phase, we share the folder with the respective assignees. I find it very useful that the "Share folder" feature is available in the context menu on the folder-tree as this is where I'd expect such a feature, naturally“.

Thank you Florian for your story and such a positive feedback!

As data sharing is amongst the most visited topics on our help section, let us remind you of some great tips from our golden collection of tips and tricks:

1) Share the whole workspace with your team

If you need to provide your team with access to all folders in your workspace, create a parent folder (e.g., «My Company»), move all other folders there and then share it with your teammates.

2)  Make your newcomers feel welcomed in Wrike
All data is invisible to your Wrike newcomers by default, that’s why it’s important to create a rule to share all relevant tasks and folders with newcomers.

3)  Think of subfolders
If you share a folder with a certain team member, they also get access to all tasks in all its subfolders.

4) Share as little as a single task
If you’d like to grant people  access to a certain task rather than to a whole folder, go to the task detail panel, click on "Shared with N people" and select users. This is especially helpful for working with freelancers, contractors, or clients.
Comments 0

Sorry, this content is unavailable due to your privacy settings. To view this content, click the “Cookie Preferences” button and accept Advertising Cookies there.

Cookie Preferences